Lennox Island First Nation Election Notice- May 2, 2016



There will be an election for one (1) Chief, two (2) On-Reserve Councillors and one (1) Off-Reserve Councillor for the Lennox Island First Nation Council on June 11, 2016, in accordance with the Lennox Island Band Custom Election Code, October 18, 2008.

The details of the Advance Poll and Election are as follows:


Advance Poll:

Date: Friday, June 3, 2016

Time: 12:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.

Location: Murphy’s Community Centre, 200 Richmond Street, Charlottetown, PEI



Date: Saturday, June 11, 2016

Time: 12:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.

Location: Lennox Island John J. Sark Memorial School Gym, Lennox Island, PEI


A list of candidates for all Council positions will be posted on the Lennox Island Band web page (www.lennoxisland.com) following the expiration of the time provided for filing nomination papers in accordance with the Lennox Island Band Custom Election Code.

A copy of the Electors List can be viewed on the Lennox Island First Nation web page at www.lennoxisland.com or by contacting the Lennox Island Band Office at (902) 831-2779.
All Eligible Electors intending to vote at either the Advance Poll or Election Poll must be prepared to produce adequate identification to satisfy the Electoral Officer of his or her identity. “Indian Status Cards” are suggested or a combination of another valid picture i.d. and a birth certificate.

The following is the list of candidates for Chief, On-Reserve Councillors and Off Reserve Councillor:


Chief (1)

Bernard, Stephen

Bernard, Timmy

Ramjattan, Matilda


On-Reserve Councillor (2)

Augustine, Robert

Banks, Janet

Bernard, Debbie

Bernard, Emily

Bernard, Jimmy

Coutts, Angus

Gavin, Patsy

Guimond, Richard

Lewis, David

Thomas, Gerry

Thomas, Randy


Off-Reserve Councillor(1)

Matthews, Kent

Moore-Phillips, Mary

Sark, Andrew



Electoral Officer:

Michelle McLean

P.O. Box 135

Lennox Island, PEI

C0B 1P0

Phone: (902) 831-2711

Fax: (902) 831-2780